Welcome to the #1 Ford Fiesta Forum and Ford Fiesta community dedicated to Ford Fiesta owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Ford Fiesta Forum today!

2016 Fiesta (DPS6) Inner Axle Bearing/Differential Bearing

AlekAuto

City
St. Paul
State
MN
Country
United States
What I Drive
02 GS300 (sorry, she's the fav)
Hello, everyone. I'm new here. Here's a video of what the axle is doing.
I'm a mobile mechanic who mostly works on Japanese vehicles, so I'm not overly familiar with Ford. A customer came in with a complaint of a grinding noise, like something was being dragged under their car. Happened mostly when braking, or turning.
My first guess was wheel bearing, but during my inspections, I saw that the sound was actually coming from the driver side axle. The thing that concerns me the most, however, is that the CV axle has an insane amount of play, more than I've ever seen.
This leads me to believe that the axle/differential bearing has worn out, but the issue is, I can't find any literature on how to replace this bearing, and it's not like a normal differential where you can open it up and service the gears/bearings if need be. I don't wanna take it all apart just to find there's a lip in the way and I can't get it out with a slide hammer, or that you need to remove the transmission to press a new bearing in, or something else like that.
It should be noted that the ball joint was also extremely worn out. I've advised the customer to find alternative transportation until they have the funds to get it worked on.